OUR PATIENTS, OUR STUDENTS, OUR FUTURE!

ADVISORY: UC Nurses and Technical Employees to Join Striking AFSCME Workers

May 8, 2018

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: MAY 7, 2018
CONTACT: JOHN DE LOS ANGELES | jdelosangeles@afscme3299.org | 650-438-1961


(OAKLAND, CA)
– Today, AFSCME Local 3299, which represents over 25,000 Service and Patient Care Technical workers at the University of California, will be joined on the second day of a three-day strike by the California Nurses Association (CNA), which represents 14,000 UC nurses, and the University Professional and Technical Employees’ (UPTE-CWA), which represents 15,000 UC workers. The sympathy strikes authorized by UC nurses and technical workers come as a growing chorus of California leaders have condemned UC’s harsh treatment of its lowest wage workers and troubling patterns of inequality.  Yesterday, US Senator Kamala Harris cancelled a planned UC commencement speech due to the ongoing labor dispute.

“The growing divide between UC’s top administrators and the rest of UC’s workforce is far beyond what a taxpayer funded institution should allow,” says AFSCME Local 3299 President Kathryn Lybarger. “What we now have is a public university that’s literally becoming a monument to inequality, and workers all over the UC system have had enough.”

Details of each picket line can be found below.

Picket Times, Locations, Rally Schedule, and Expected Dignitaries:

UCLA Ronald Reagan Medical Center

  • Picket Time: 7:00am – 6:00pm
  • Address: 757 Westwood Plaza, Los Angeles, CA
  • Rally Time: 12:00pm
  • Expected Dignitaries: UNITE HERE International Vice President Maria Elena Durazo
  • Press Contact: John de los Angeles (650-438-1961, jdelosangeles@afscme3299.org

UCLA Campus

  • Picket Time: 7:00am – 6:00pm
  • Address: 308 Westwood Plaza, Los Angeles, CA
  • Rally Time: 12:00pm
  • Expected Dignitaries: TBD
  • Press Contact: Jeff Rogers (909-263-7230, jeff.rogers@unacuhcp.org

UCSF Parnassus Campus

  • Picket Time: 7:00am – 6:00pm
  • Address: 505 Parnassus Avenue, San Francisco, CA
  • Rally Time: 12:00pm
  • Expected Dignitaries: UPTE-CWA 9119 President Jamie McDoyle
  • Press Contact: Todd Stenhouse (916-397-1131, toddstenhouse@gmail.com)

UCSD Jacobs Medical Center

  • Picket Time: 7:00am – 6:00pm
  • Address: 9300 Campus Point Drive, La Jolla, CA
  • Rally Time: 12:00pm
  • Expected Dignitaries: TBD
  • Press Contact: Justin Lee (510-214-2269, jlee@afscme.org)

UC Davis Medical Center

  • Picket Time: 7:00am – 6:00pm
  • Address: 2315 Stockton Boulevard, Sacramento, CA
  • Rally Time: 12:00pm
  • Expected Dignitaries: Sacramento Central Labor Council Executive Director Fabrizio Sasso, Labor Council for Latin American Advancement President Desiree Rojas
  • Press Contact: Steve Smith (510-326-4644, ssmith@calaborfed.org)

UC Irvine Medical Center

  • Picket Time: 7:00am – 6:00pm
  • Address: 101 The City Drive S, Orange, CA
  • Rally Time: 12:30pm
  • Expected Dignitaries: Representatives of Assemblymember Tom Daly (D-Anaheim), UPTE-CWA Vice President Erich Wise
  • Press Contact: David Kreisman (847-209-6243, dkreisman@afscme.org)

UC Berkeley Campus

  • Picket Time: 7:00am – 6:00pm
  • Address: 2495 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA
  • Rally Time: 12:00pm
  • Expected Dignitaries: UPTE-CWA 9119 Vice President Dan Russell
  • Press Contact: Rachel Warino (510-499-7188, rwarino@calaborfed.org)

UC Santa Cruz Campus

  • Picket Time: 7:00am – 6:00pm
  • Address: 1156 High Street, Santa Cruz, CA
  • Rally Time: 12:00pm
  • Expected Dignitaries: TBD
  • Press Contact: Mary Virginia Watson (210-677-5046, mvwatson@afscme3299.org)

UC Santa Barbara Campus

  • Picket Time: 7:00am – 6:00pm
  • Address: 552 University Road, Santa Barbara, CA (at Storke Tower)
  • Rally Time: 12:00pm
  • Expected Dignitaries: TBD
  • Press Contact: Jashua Bane (213-841-8490, jbane@afscme.org)

Last modified: May 8, 2018

Comments are closed.